James Prisco speaking to the group (Photo by Bob Giglione)

The Long Island chapter of the American Institute of Architects celebrated their 53rd Annual Archi Awards on Thursday, Oct. 19 at North Hills Country Club in Manhasset.

The awards recognize excellence in design by local architects and projects with the goal of increasing awareness of outstanding architecture and to honor the architects, clients and consultants who work together to create these projects.

The Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Joseph J. Scarpulla of the American Institute of Architects for outstanding achievement for over 20 years.

The Community Service Award went to John R. Sorrenti of the Fellow of the American Institute of Architects for actions that have increased the quality of life within the community.

The Legislator Award was won by New York State Sen. Senator Elaine Phillips (R-Flower Hill) for sponsoring bills that benefit the health, safety and welfare of the community.

Winning the Membership Award was Anthony S. DiProperzio of the American Institute of Architects for outstanding service to the chapter for over 10 years.

The Educator Award title was claimed by Dr. Paul L. Bentel of the Fellow of the American Institute of Architects for actions that have increased the quality of life within the community.

Works judged by the Mineola-based nonprofit include residential, commercial, institutional projects and historical renovations as well as interior and sustainable design. 

James Prisco, Joe Scarpella & Martin Hero (Photo by Bob Giglione)
William Brady, John Kelly, Chris Kmieciak, Alexandra MacDonald, Christipher Crans, Maria Caravella, Eldon Smith, Phillip Giordano, Steve Saraniero & Neil MacDonald, all of NFC Architects. (Photo by Bob Giglione)
Joe Cifiarmonte, Ric Statt & Diana Statt (Photo by Bob Giglione)
Glado Hartrat & Christine Poserina (Photo by Bob Giglione)
Todd Harvey, Sal Cocc, Chris Sepp & Ken Garvin (Photo by Bob Giglione)
Edward Butt, Andrea Costllo & TJ Costello (Photo by Bob Giglione)
Michael Hults, Thomas Lanzelotti & Glenn DeSimone (Photo by Bob Giglione)
-Joseph Ianucci, Tim Boyland, Ric Statt & Diana Statt (Photo by Bob Giglione)
Graciella Carrillo, Vincent Bianco, Jake Rivalsi & Jonelle Rivalsi (Photo by Bob Giglione)
Andrew Pollack & Katie Smalheer (Photo by Bob Giglione)
Joseph & Diane Scarpulla & Kathlen Sherman (Photo by Bob Giglione)
Daniella Arcila & Joao Freitas (Photo by Bob Giglione)
Ahmed Arasto, Petra Navratilova, Clara Pierantozzi & Robert Mark (Photo by Bob Giglione)
Dei Alvadreis, Lisa Gross, Jess Licazzi & Rob Manetta (Photo by Bob Giglione)
Dr Jamie Sodova, Veronica James & Luie Castro, all of B Thayer Associates (Photo by Bob Giglione)
[wpdevart_facebook_comment title_text="Comments" title_text_color="#000000" title_text_font_size="22" title_text_font_family="monospace" title_text_position="left" width="100%" bg_color="#CCCCCC" animation_effect="random" count_of_comments="5" ]