California Added To NY COVID-19 Travel Advisory, Massachusetts Trips Discouraged

Passengers on a train from Florida stop and register with officials at Penn Station during an effort to screen out-of-state travellers and enforce the state’s 14-day coronavirus disease (COVID-19) quarantine in the Manhattan borough of New York City, New York, U.S., August 6, 2020. REUTERS/Carlo Allegri

California was added to the list of places from where travelers to New York State must self quarantine for 14 days to curb the spread of coronavirus and officials are discouraging trips to and from Massachusetts due to a spike in cases there.

No states were removed this week from the list, which which includes areas with a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents over a 7-day rolling average or an area with a 10 percent or higher positivity rate over a 7-day rolling average.

“We cannot let our guard down and risk going backwards in New York,” Gov. Andrew Cuomo said. “It’s going to take the work of all of us to remain vigilant … Wear a mask, socially distance, and follow the public health guidance. It’s there to save lives.”

The list now includes 39 states, plus Guam and Puerto Rico. Besides Massachusetts, last week Cuomo also discouraged travel to and from New Jersey, Connecticut, and Pennsylvania, but stopped short of requiring quarantines. New York City has set up checkpoints at bridges and tunnels to ensure travelers from other states fill out the required contact tracing paperwork or face fines.

 The full, updated travel advisory list is as follows:

  • Alaska
  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Guam
  • Iowa
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maryland
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Missouri
  • Mississippi
  • Montana
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Nebraska
  • New Mexico
  • Nevada
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Puerto Rico
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • West Virginia
  • Wyoming

Related Story: Tristate Governors Discourage Travel Between NY, NJ, and CT To Curb COVID-19

For more coronavirus coverage, visit longislandpress.com/coronavirus

Sign up for Long Island Press’ email newsletters hereSign up for home delivery of Long Island Press here. Sign up for discounts by becoming a Long Island Press community partner here.