Moviegoers watch a flick on the sand at Long Beach this summer (Courtesy of City of Long Beach).

By John Dundon

Whether sprawled out on a blanket or reclined in cars throwing it back to the days of drive-in movies, Long Islanders will once again be treated to outdoor movies  all summer long.

will I be approved for a business loan

Dozens of films from both new and old will be screened—weather permitting—across the Island in the coming months. The parks, beaches and community centers that host the events are sure to be fun filled, family centric environments for all to enjoy–usually free of charge. Pack snacks, drinks and lots of insect repellant.

“Grab a blanket, pack some snacks and come enjoy some family-friendly movies under the stars this summer,” said Nassau County Executive Mangano.

Below is a list of all outdoor movie screenings across the Island from early June through Labor Day.

Independence Day (Drive in, $10 donation to 9/11 memorial required)
Overlook Beach, Ocean Parkway, Babylon. Friday, June 10, 8:30 p.m.

Rocky III
Sunset Park, Main Street, Port Washington. Saturday, June 18, 8:15 p.m.

Princess Bride
Lafayette Blvd., Long Beach. Saturday, June 25, 8:15 p.m.

The Descendants
Tanner Park, Baylawn Avenue, Copiague. Monday, June 27, movie begins at dusk

MORE: It’s farmers’ market season! Find out if there’s one near you

Star Wars: The Force Awakens
Heckscher Park, 164 Main St, Huntington. Monday, June 27, 7:30 p.m.

Book of Life
Cedar Creek Park, Merrick Road, Seaford. Tuesday, July 5, 8:30 p.m.

Peanuts
Harry Chapin Lakeside Theatre, Eisenhower Park, Hempstead Turnpike, East Meadow. Thursday, July 7, 8:35 p.m.

Max (Drive in)
Crab Meadow Beach, Waterside Avenue, Northport. Thursday, July 7, 7:30 p.m. *RESCHEDULED TO JULY 14 DUE TO RAIN*

Minions
Jones Beach band shell, Jones Beach, Wantagh. Thursday, July 7, 8 p.m.

Jurassic World
Syosset-Woodbury Community Park, 7800 Jericho Tpke, Syosset. Friday, July 8, movie begins at dusk

Mama Mia
Lincoln Blvd., Long Beach. Saturday, July 9, 8:15 p.m.

Back to the Future
Sunset Park, Main Street, Port Washington. Saturday, July 9, 8:30 p.m.

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles
Babylon Town Hall, 200 E. Sunrise Hwy., Lindenhurst. Monday, July 11, movie begins at dusk

Lilo and Stitch
Casamento Park, Muncey Road, West Islip. Monday, July 11, movie begins at dark

Matilda
Jeanne Garant Harborfront Park, 101 E. Broadway Ave., Port Jefferson. Tuesday, July 12, movie starts at dusk

MORE: The Jones Beach summer concert series is in full swing. Here’s a list of who’s performing this year

Minions
Ellsworth W. Allen Town Park, 45 Motor Ave., Farmingdale. Wednesday, July 13, movie starts at dusk

Goosebumps
Jones Beach band shell, Jones Beach, Wantagh. Thursday, July 14, 8 p.m.

Hotel Transylvania 2
Harry Chapin Lakeside Theatre, Eisenhower Park, Hempstead Turnpike, East Meadow. Thursday, July 14, 8:30 p.m.

Star Wars: The Force Awakens
New York Ave., Long Beach. Saturday, July 16, 8 p.m.

Pete’s Dragon
Clinton G. Martin Park, New Hyde Park Road, New Hyde Park. Sunday, July 17, 7:30 p.m.

Jurassic World
Jeanne Garant Harborfront Park, 101 E. Broadway Ave., Port Jefferson. Tuesday, July 19, movie starts at dusk

Despicable Me 2
Cedar Creek Park, Merrick Road, Seaford. Tuesday, July 19, 8:40 p.m.

Casablanca
Chelsea Mansion, 34 Muttontown Lane, East Norwich. Wednesday, July 20., 8:30 p.m. 

Finding Nemo (Drive in)
Crab Meadow Beach, Waterside Avenue, Northport. Thursday, July 21, 7:30 p.m.

Pan
Jones Beach band shell, Jones Beach, Wantagh Thursday, July 21, 8 p.m.

Minions
Harry Chapin Lakeside Theatre, Eisenhower Park, Hempstead Turnpike, East Meadow. Thursday, July 21, 8:30 p.m.  

The Sandlot
Plainview-Old Bethpage Community Park, 175 Washington Ave., Plainview. Thursday, July 21, movie begins at dusk

Jaws
Neptune Blvd., Long Beach. Saturday, July 23, 8 p.m.

A League of Their Own
(Donations being accepted for Copiague Fire Dept.) Tanner Park, Baylawn Avenue, Copiague. Monday, July 25, movie begins at dusk

Stand by Me
Bohemia Recreation Center, 1 Ruzicka Way, Bohemia. Monday, July 25, movie begins at dark

The Good Dinosaur
Jeanne Garant Harborfront Park, 101 E. Broadway Ave., Port Jefferson. Tuesday, July 26, movie starts at dusk

Home
Harry Chapin Lakeside Theatre, Eisenhower Park, Hempstead Turnpike, East Meadow. Thursday, July 28, 8:15 p.m.

The Good Dinosaur
Jones Beach band shell, Jones Beach, Wantagh. Thursday, July 28, 8 p.m.

Star Wars: The Force Awakens
Hoyt Farm Town Park, 200 New Hwy., Commack. Friday, July 29, 8:30 p.m.

The Good Dinosaur
Stotzky Park, Columbus Avenue, Riverhead. Friday, July 29, 8:30 p.m.

MORE: Need a daycation? Here’s a complete beginner’s guide to Fire Island

Star Wars: The Force Awakens
John J. Burns Park, 4990 Merrick Road, Massapequa. Friday, July 29, movie begins at dusk

Rocky Horror Picture Show
Lincoln Blvd., Long Beach. Saturday, July 30, 7:45 p.m.

Pitch Perfect 2
Sunset Park, 10 Main Street, Port Washington. Saturday, July 30, 8 p.m.

Hotel Transylvania 2
Jones Beach band shell, Jones Beach. Saturday, July 30, 8 p.m.

The Intern
Jeanne Garant Harborfront Park, 101 E. Broadway Ave., Port Jefferson. Tuesday, Aug. 2, movie starts at dusk

Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good Very Bad Day
Cedar Creek Park, Merrick Road, Seaford. Tuesday, August 2, 8:15 p.m.

Citizen Cane
Chelsea Mansion, 34 Muttontown Lane, East Norwich. Wednesday, Aug. 3, 8:15 p.m.

Inside Out
Syosset-Woodbury Community Park, 7880 Jericho Tpke., Syosset. Wednesday, Aug. 3, movie begins at dusk

Minions
Harry Chapin Lakeside Theatre, Eisenhower Park, Hempstead Turnpike, East Meadow. Thursday, Aug. 4, 7:30 p.m.  

Kung Fu Panda 3
Harry Chapin Lakeside Theatre, Eisenhower Park, Jericho Turnpike, East Meadow. Thursday, Aug. 4, 8:15 p.m.

Inside Out
Jones Beach band shell, Jones Beach, Wantagh. Thursday, Aug. 4, 8 p.m.

Zootopia
Neptune Blvd., Long Beach. Saturday, Aug. 6, 7:45 p.m.

Minions
Sunset Park, Main Street, Port Washington. Saturday, Aug. 6, 8 p.m.

West Side Story
Brookwood Hall, 50 Irish Lane, East Islip. Monday, Aug. 8, movie begins at dark

MORE: Do you and your family love great food? Of course you do! Here’s a Guide To 11 Long Island Food Festivals

Tootsie
Clark Botanic Garden, 193 Willets Road, Roslyn Heights. Tuesday, Aug. 9, 8:15 p.m.

Mission Impossible: Rogue Nation
Jeanne Garant Harborfront Park, 101 E. Broadway Ave., Port Jefferson. Tuesday, Aug. 9, movie starts at dusk

Goosebumps
Harry Chapin Lakeside Theatre, Eisenhower Park, Hempstead Turnpike, East Meadow. Thursday, Aug. 11, 8:05 p.m.

Cinderella
Jones Beach band shell, Jones Beach, Wantagh. Thursday, August 11, 8 p.m.

Finding Nemo
Wading River Beach, 131 Creek Road, Wading River. Friday, Aug. 12, 8:30 p.m.

Jurassic World
New York Ave., Long Beach. Saturday, Aug. 13, 7:30 p.m.

Inside Out
Peter Nelson Park, Oakwood Road, Huntington. Monday, Aug. 15, 7:30 p.m.

Pan
Jeanne Garant Harborfront Park, 101 E. Broadway Ave., Port Jefferson. Tuesday, Aug. 16, movie starts at dusk

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory
Cedar Creek Park, Merrick Road, Seaford. Tuesday, August 16, 8 p.m.

Sabrina
Chelsea Mansion, 34 Muttontown Lane, East Norwich. Wednesday, Aug. 17, 8 p.m.

MORE: Are you a Cablevision customer? Well, it’s about to be sold. Learn about its imminent sale to an European-based telecom company

Star Wars: The Force Awakens  
North Hempstead Beach Park, 285 Denton Ave., North Hempstead. Thursday, Aug.18, 8 p.m.

Dirty Dancing
Neptune Blvd., Long Beach. Saturday, Aug. 20, 7:30 p.m.

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles
Islip Grange Park, 10 Broadway Ave., Sayville. Monday, Aug. 22, movie begins at dark

Wizard of Oz
Harry Chapin Lakeside Theatre, Eisenhower Park, Hempstead Turnpike, East Meadow. Thursday, Aug. 25, 7:45 p.m.

Zootopia
Jones Beach band shell, Jones Beach, Wantagh. Thursday, Aug. 25, 8 p.m.

Star Wars: The Force Awakens  
South Jamesport Beach, Peconic Bay Boulevard. Friday, Aug. 26, 8 p.m.

ET: The Extra Terrestrial
Lafayette Blvd., Long Beach. Saturday, Aug. 27, 7:15 p.m.

Pan
Harry Chapin Lakeside Theatre, Eisenhower Park, Hempstead Turnpike, East Meadow. Sunday, August 28, 8 p.m.

Back to the Future
Lincoln Blvd., Long Beach. Saturday, Sept. 3, 7:15 p.m.

Minions
New York Ave., Long Beach. Saturday, Sept. 17, 6:45 p.m.

Breakfast at Tiffany’s
Lafayette Blvd., Long Beach. Saturday, Sept. 24, 6:30 p.m.

Comments