Masters Kicks Off on Thursday

The groupings for the 2011 PGA Masters has been announced.

The tradition of nearly 80 years continues at its home of Augusta, Ga.

Phil Mickelson looks to repeat as the Masters champion as he sets to tee off on Thursday. He will be grouped with former U.S. Open champion Geoff Ogilvy and U.S. amateur champion Peter Uihlein. They tee off at 1:48 p.m.

If Mickelson gets his fourth Masters victory, he will tie Arnold Palmer and Tiger Woods for second in Master victories. Jack Nicklaus leads the way with six titles.

Four time champion, Tiger Woods looks to win his first major since the 2008 U.S. Open victory in a sudden-death playoff against Rocco Mediate. Woods will be grouped with the reigning U.S. Open champion Graeme McDowell and Robert Allenby at 10:41 a.m.

Jonathan Byrd, Ross Fisher and Sean O’Hair will kick the tournament off at 7:45 a.m. Jhonattan Vegas, Gary Woodland and Alvaro Quiros will be the last group, set to tee off at 1:59 p.m.

David Love III will tee off in a grouping at 12:31 p.m. before Tom Watson at 12:42 p.m.

Thursday starts a four day weekend of players trying to win their first coveted green jacket. A tradition that dates back to 1949. The previous winner presents the jacket to the new winner. Mickelson hopes to receive another green jacket.

Long Island’s own Arjun Atwal will tee off at 10:52 a.m.

Nobody has repeated as champion since Tiger Woods in 2001-2002 and 98 other players will attempt to stop the repeat from happening.