Slam Dunk Contest: NBA 2012 Slam Dunk Contest

Slam Dunk Contest
New York Knicks' guard Iman Shumpert (21) drives the ball against Utah Jazz's shooting guard Raja Bell (19) during an NBA basketball game on Monday, Feb. 6, 2012, in New York. (AP Photo/Kathy Kmonicek)

Sorry Knicks fans, Jeremy Lin is not in the slam dunk contest.

Yes, we know, you were waiting at the edge of your seat, while scribbling new puns to go with the point guard’s surname, hoping that Lin would get selected to the dunk contest during All-Star weekend—and dominate, of course.

So no Linsanity for one night—unless, of course, he’s lobbing passes to the one Knicks player who will actually be taking part in the contest.

The NBA announced on Thursday that rookie guard Iman Shumpert will be one of the four contestants in this year’s dunk contest, along with the Timberwolves forward Derrick Williams, Pacers Paul George and Chase Budinger of the Rockets.

In an effort to try to add some buzz to the growing staleness of All-Star Game activities, the NBA said the dunk contest will take place in a single-round format in which the winner will be chosen by fan vote. The league also announced that fans will be able to vote through Twitter.

Here’s how the rules are going to work:

Each contestant will get an opportunity to perform three rim-rocking dunks.

Fan voting will begin after all four competitors complete their first dunk.

The new rules replaces the two-round format, in which dunkers were issued scores from a panel of judges.

Some fans may be disappointed, however, because thunderous slam dunk man, Blake Griffin will not be performing for the crowd.

Griffin took home the title last year after jumping over a car for his final dunk.

Formers Knicks guard Nate Robinson won back-to-back titles from 2009-2010 and Dwight Howard was victorious in 2008.

The dunk contest is Feb. 25, at Amway Center in Orlando (TNT, 8 p.m. ET).

Below is a list of previous winners:

2011 — Blake Griffin, L.A. Clippers
2010 — Nate Robinson, New York
2009 — Nate Robinson, New York
2008 — Dwight Howard, Orlando
2007 — Gerald Green, Boston
2006 — Nate Robinson, New York
2005 — Josh Smith, Atlanta
2004 — Fred Jones, Indiana
2003 — Jason Richardson, Golden State
2002 — Jason Richardson, Golden State
2001 — Desmond Mason, Seattle
2000 — Vince Carter, Toronto
1997 — Kobe Bryant, L.A. Lakers
1996 — Brent Barry, L.A. Clippers
1995 — Harold Miner, Miami
1994 — Isaiah Rider, Minnesota
1993 — Harold Miner, Miami
1992 — Cedric Ceballos, Phoenix
1991 — Dee Brown, Boston
1990 — Dominique Wilkins, Atlanta
1989 — Kenny Walker, New York
1988 — Michael Jordan, Chicago
1987 — Michael Jordan, Chicago
1986 — Spud Webb, Atlanta
1985 — Dominique Wilkins, Atlanta
1984 — Larry Nance, Phoenix