Long Island Press Wins Top Honors at AAN Awards

AAN2013 The Long Island Press brought home top honors at the 2013 Association of Alternative Newsmedia (AAN) Awards held in Miami, Florida over the weekend.

The annual awards ceremony and convention recognizes outstanding journalism and graphic design among AAN’s 124 alternative news organizations across the United States and Canada. More than 900 entries were submitted throughout two circulation divisions and more than a dozen writing and design categories. Winners were chosen by judges at the E.W. Scripps School of Journalism at Ohio University.

The Long Island Press won three First Place and one Second-Place awards, including:

First Place – Public Service (50,000-and-over circulation division), for 2011 investigation and follow-ups “Membership Has its Privileges: Is Nassau County Police Department Selling Preferential Treatment To Private Citizens?” and follow-ups “D.A. Probe Ongoing,” “Nassau County Top Cops Surrender” and “Nassau Cops Indicted” by Long Island Press Contributing Writer Shelly Feuer Domash and Editor in Chief Christopher Twarowski.

First Place – Long Form News Story (50,000-and-over circulation division), for Managing Editor Jaclyn Gallucci’s cover story “Identifying Princess Doe,” a behind-the-scenes look at law enforcement’s use of the latest technological advances to help identify a 30-year cold-case murder victim and her killers.

First Place – Multimedia (all publications), for Multimedia Reporter Rashed Mian, Twarowski, Director of New Media Michael Conforti, and graphic designers Scott Kearney and Sal Calvi’s comprehensive and interactive editorial, graphics and video package “Ripple Effect,” exposing an ever-creeping subterranean plume of toxic chemicals contaminating public drinking water supplies across Long Island.

Twarowski, Mian and Art Director Jon Sasala earned Second Place Multimedia (all publications) nods for “Clam Wars,” a cover story and video package detailing the ongoing battle between baymen and a commercial shellfish dredging company in Oyster Bay.

The 36th Annual AAN Convention was hosted by Miami New Times and featured Rolling Stone contributing editor Matt Taibbi, among other speakers and presenters. AAN Executive Director Tiffany Shackelford bestowed all winners in attendance with “bling and beverages.” Those who couldn’t make it to Miami for the festivities will be mailed certificates.

For a full list of 2013 AAN Awards categories and winners, CLICK HERE.