Power List Party Honors Long Island’s Leaders

Power List
The 15th annual Long Island Press Power List honorees pose at The Mansion at Oyster Bay in Woodbury on Thursday, April 12, 2018. Photo by Thomas Christian DeJosia.

Four hundred revelers packed The Mansion at Oyster Bay to celebrate the 15th annual Long Island Press Power List honoring the region’s most influential business, nonprofit and political leaders on April 12.

The much-anticipated party and networking event followed the recent publication of the PressPower List. Honorees were each awarded a special crystal ball, symbolizing their ability to shape the future of the Island.

“Abraham Lincoln once said, ‘Nearly all men can stand adversity, but if you want to test a man’s character, give him power,’” ABC News anchor Diane Macedo, a Mineola native, said while emceeing the awards ceremony portion of the evening. “You’ve been given power and you have responded by using your power for good. That is what the Power List is all about.”

Honorees ranged from nonprofit leaders such as Theresa Regnante, President and CEO of United Way Long Island, who was inducted into the Power List Hall of Fame for being on the list five times, to business executives such as PSEG Long Island President and CEO Daniel Eichhorn and political power brokers such as New York State Senate Majority Leader John Flanagan (R-Northport).

“Many ask how the list is comprised,” Long Island Press Co-publisher Victoria Schneps-Yunis told the crowd. “I can tell you there are many months of painstaking internal deliberations to determine who will be on the Power List. And of course, there are those who lobby to get on…But at the end of the day, only the truly influential make it.”

Those who made the list were fêted by their powerful peers.

“I am deeply humbled to be included on The Long Island Press Power List alongside an impressive roster of renowned and respected leaders, many of whom are friends and colleagues,” said Adam Silvers, Managing Partner of the Uniondale-based law firm of Ruskin Moscou Faltischek P.C. “Most significantly, this honor is a reflection upon our entire Ruskin Moscou Faltischek team of brilliant and dedicated attorneys who work hard every day to help our clients succeed.”

Sponsors of the event include Bethpage Federal Credit Union, Canon U.S.A., Northwell Health, Ruskin Moscou Faltischek, P.C., Parker Jewish Institute for Health Care and Rehabilitation, PSEG Long Island, Cameron Engineering, Adelphi University, Nixon Peabody, Flushing Bank, First Central Savings Bank, Daniel Gale Sotheby’s International Realty, SVAM International, Lessing’s Hospitality Group, Zwanger-Pesiri Radiology, Alure Home Improvements, Sterling National Bank, Henry Schein, Islamic Center of Long Island, EASCO, Henry Schein, Inc. and Sandwire.

For more information, visit powerlist.longislandpress.com 

Power Listers include:

Russell Albanese, CEO of the Albanese Organization, Inc.
Terri Alessi-Miceli, President and CEO of HIA-Long Island
Eric Alexander, Director of Vision Long Island
Linda Armyn, Senior Vice President of Corporate Affairs at Bethpage Federal Credit Union
John Barres, Bishop of the Diocese of Rockville Centre
John Buran, CEO of Flushing Bank
Ernie Canadeo, CEO and Founder of EGC Group
Isma Chaudhry, President of the Islamic Center of Long Island
Kimberly Cline, President of Long Island University
Allan Cohen, Office Managing Partner of Nixon Peabody LLP
John Collins, President and CEO of NYU Winthrop Hospital
Michael Dubb, CEO of The Beechwood Organization
John Durso, President of Local 338 RWDSU/UFCW & LI Federation of Labor
Daniel Eichhorn, President & CEO of PSEG Long Island
Joe Ficalora, CEO of New York Community Bank
Conor Flynn, CEO of Kimco Realty
Patrick Foye, Chairman of the MTA
Peter Goldsmith, chairman of LISTnet
Louis Grassi, CEO of Grassi & Co.
Wayne Grossé, President & CEO of Bethpage Federal Credit Union
Dr. Alan Guerci, CEO of Catholic Health Services
Jenny T. Jorge Peña, Vice President of Operations of Gala Fresh
Anil Kapoor, President and CEO of SVAM International
Jack Kopnisky, President and CEO of Sterling National Bank
Jack Kulka, President and Founder of Kulka Construction
Devin Kulka, CEO of Kulka Construction
Stew Leonard Jr., President & CEO, Stew Leonard’s
Mark Lessing, Executive Vice President of Lessing’s Hospitality Group
Michael Lessing, President & COO of Lessing’s Hospitality Group
Neela Lockel, CEO of The American Red Cross on Long Island
Dr. Steven Mendelsohn, CEO of Zwanger Pesiri Radiology
Grace Monahan, Vice President and Chief Information Officer, Henry Schein
Kevin O’Connor, CEO of BNB Bank
Walter Oden, Managing Partner of Oden Development LLC
Deidre O’Connell, President and CEO of Daniel Gale Sotheby’s International Realty
Joseph Pistilli, Chairman and Founder of First Central Savings Bank and CEO and Founder of Pistilli Realty
Dr. Purna Prasad, VP & Chief Technology Officer, Northwell Heatlh
Christine Riordan, President of Adelphi University
Michael Rosenblut, President and CEO of Parker Jewish Institute for Health Care & Rehabilitation
Anthony Scotto, President & CEO of Scotto Brothers Enterprises
Victor Scotto, Vice President of Scotto Brothers Enterprises
Todd Shapiro, President, Todd Shapiro Associates
Adam Silvers, Managing Partner of Ruskin Moscou Faltischek P.C.
Harry Singh, Chairman, President and CEO of Bolla Management Corp.
David Sterling, Founding CEO of SterlingRisk Insurance
Paul Sturman, CEO of Nature’s Bounty
David Wolkoff, Heartland Town Square developer
Jerry Wolkoff, Heartland Town Square developer
Howard Zemsky, President and CEO of the Empire State Development Corp.


Stanley Bergman, Chairman & CEO of Henry Schein
Fred Brewington, Law Offices of Fred Brewington
John Cameron, CEO of Cameron Engineering
Michael Dowling, CEO of Northwell Health
Sal Ferro, CEO of Alure Home Improvements
Katherine Heaviside, President of EPOCH 5 Public Relations
Steve Israel, Chairman of the Global Institute
Kevin Law, President and CEO of the Long Island Association
Seymour Liebman, Executive Vice President, Chief Administrative Officer & General Counsel Canon USA
Gary Melius, owner of Oheka Castle
Dr. Stuart Rabinowitz, President of Hofstra University
Scott Rechler, CEO of RXR Realty
Theresa Regnante, President & CEO of United Way-LI
Dr. Jeff Reynolds, President & CEO of the Family & Children’s Association
Dr. Samuel Stanley, President of Stony Brook University
Bruce Stillman, Ph.D, President of Cold Spring Harbor Labs
Charles Vigliotti, President & CEO of Long Island Compost
Robert Zimmerman, Partner, Zimmerman & Edelson


Steve Bellone, Suffolk County Executive
Tom Cilmi, Suffolk County Legislative GOP Minority Leader
Laura Curran, Nassau County Executive
Tom DiNapoli, New York State Comptroller
John Flanagan, New York State Senate Majority Leader
Laura Gillen, Hempstead Town Supervisor
Jay Jacobs, Nassau Democratic Party Chairman
Peter King, 2nd District Congressman
Richard Nicolello, Presiding Officer of the Nassau Legislature
Paul Pontieri, Mayor of Patchogue
Madeline Singas, Nassau County District Attorney
Richard Schaffer, Babylon Town Supervisor and Suffolk Democratic Chair
Timothy Sini, Suffolk County District Attorney
Tom Suozzi, 3rd District Congressman