Some Upsets in NY Assembly Races on Long Island

pjimage (29)
Left to right: Taylor Raynor and Deputy Assembly Speaker Earlene Hooper (D-Hempstead).

Three New York State Assembly members were unseated Tuesday, most notably the anticipated ousting of Deputy Assembly Speaker Earlene Hooper (D-Hempstead), a 30-year-incumbent.

Democrat Taylor Raynor, who beat Hooper in September’s Democratic primary, trounced Republican James Lamarre with 81 percent of the vote on Election Day, according to unofficial early returns tallied by the state Board of Elections. Democrat Judy Griffin unseated eight-year state Assemb. Brian Curran (R-Lynbrook) with 51 to 46 percent of the vote. And Republican Mike LiPetri unseated state Assemb. Christine Pellegrino (D-West Islip) by a margin of 54 to 42 percent.

in addition, Republicans won two state Assembly seats vacated by GOP incumbents.

Republican Joseph DeFestano beat Democrat Clyde Parker 51 to 43 percent in the race to replace outgoing state Assemb. Dean Murray (R-East Patchogue), who lost his bid for state Senate on Tuesday.

And Republican Douglas Smith beat Democrat Timothy Hall 56 to 39 percent in the race to replace Smith’s former boss, state Assemb. Al Graf (R-Holbrook), who became a District Court judge in April.

Long Island’s other 17 state Assembly members were re-elected. The Assembly remains in the Democratic majority.