Nassau Executive-elect Blakeman Announces Transition Team

Bruce Blakeman declared victory on Nov. 2. (Photo by Bruce Adler)

Bruce Blakeman, who will take office as Nassau County Executive on Jan. 1, has chosen a team of more than 50 community leaders to help transition county administrations, Blakeman’s office announced on Thursday.

The group consists of politicians, health leaders, business leaders, academic professionals, and other prominent figures in Nassau County. Blakeman, a Hempstead Town Councilman, unseated County Executive Laura Curran in last month’s election by 2,150 votes. His team has been communicating with Curran’s administration “to help move Nassau forward,” officials said.

“This transition team is united in its mission to make Nassau County more affordable and safer while creating new jobs and growing the economy,” Blakeman said. “I look forward to working with these dedicated professionals and thank them for their public service and commitment to our community.”

Blakeman’s team includes Arthur Walsh, the incoming chief deputy county executive; Dr. Lawrence Eisenstein, Nassau County’s health commissioner; Former New York Governor David Paterson; Nassau Police Commissioner Patrick Ryder, as well as:

  • Christopher Mcgrath, Chairman and Partner of Sullivan Papain Block McGrath Coffinas & Cannavo

  • Chudhary Akram, of Masjid Hamza

  • Eugene Alletto, CEO of Bedgear

  • Matt Aracich, President of Building & Construction Trades Council of Nassau & Suffolk Counties

  • Dr. John Paul Bellistri, of Columbia Doctors

  • Matthew Bruderman, Chairman of the Board at Bruderman Brothers, Inc.

  • Bob Catell, Past Chairman of Board of Directors of the United States Energy Association

  • Matt Cohen, President of Long Island Association

  • Michael Dowling, CEO of Northwell Health

  • Murray Forman, President of Lawrence Board of Education

  • Gilles Gade, CEO of Cross River Bank

  • Chris Giamo, Head of Commercial Banking at TD Bank

  • Hon. Dorothy Goosby, Town of Hempstead Councilwoman

  • Pastor John Gravagna, Pastor of Connect Church

  • Bishop Robert Harris, Bishop of Grace Cathedral

  • Marc Herbst, Executive Director of Long Island Contractors’ Association

  • Henry Holley, President of The Holley Group

  • Khandan Kalaty, Great Neck community member

  • Major Charles Kilbride, United States Marines Toys for Tots Chairman

  • Jerry Kornbluth, Dean at Nassau Community College

  • Dr. Krishan Kumar, Director of Pediatric Emergency at Nassau University Medical Center

  • Victor LaGreca, of Amalgamated Local 298

  • Kevin Law, Partner at Tritec Real Estate

  • Seymour Liebman, Executive Vice President of Canon

  • Susan Lucci, Garden City resident, actress, television host, author, and entrepreneur

  • Hon. Laura Maier, Town of Oyster Bay Councilwoman and small business owner

  • James Metzger, CEO of The Whitmore Group

  • Liza Milgrim, President of Long Island Hispanic Bar Association

  • Anissa Moore, CEO of North Park Community Development Corporation

  • Lisa Murphy, Town of Hempstead Commissioner of Senior Enrichment

  • Hon. Kate Murray, Town of Hempstead Clerk

  • Samuel Nahmias, President of Study Logic

  • Brian Nevin, Senior Policy Advisor for Town of Oyster Bay

  • Mitch Pally, CEO of Long Island Builders Institute

  • Dr. Susan Poser, President of Hofstra University

  • Juan Reyes, of Reed Smith

  • Dr. Jeffrey Reynolds, CEO of Family and Children’s Association

  • Dr. Christine Riordan, President of Adelphi University

  • William Rockensies, Director of Construction Services at H2m Architects

  • Gary Rodolitz, Principal of David Lauren Associates

  • Dr. Timothy Sams, President of SUNY Old Westbury 

  • Michael Sapricone, CEO of Squad Security

  • Dr. James Savia, Assistant professor and doctor at Mount Sinai

  • Hon. Daniel Serota, Village of Brookville Mayor

  • Dr. Richard Shlofmitz, Chairman of Cardiology at St. Francis Hospital

  • Jessica Silverstein, a small business owner

  • Harry Singh, CEO of Bolla Oil Corp.

  • Jill Stone, Law Office of Jill C. Stone, esq.

  • Kyle Strober, Executive Director of The Association for a Better Long Island

  • Timothy Sullivan, CEO of Municipal Strategies & Solutions

  • Mairén Torres, Chairwoman of Republican National Hispanic Assembly

  • Donald Vultaggio, Chairman of AriZona Beverage Company

  • Hon. Lewis Yevoli, Former Town of Oyster Bay Supervisor

Blakeman has made more information available about the transition committee and his vision for Nassau at servenassau.com.

Sign up for Long Island Press’ email newsletters here. Sign up for home delivery of Long Island Press here. Sign up for discounts by becoming a Long Island Press community partner here.