17th Annual Long Island Press Power List Announced

PL Alone logo

From Montauk to Manhasset, there is no shortage of movers and shakers who hold sway over our lives on Long Island — and in some cases, beyond. But who among them are the most influential?

Behold, the 17th annual Long Island Press Power List of the top 100 leaders in business, education, philanthropy, unions, and politics. Some of them you’ve heard of; others are more behind-the-scenes power players. All have wielded their power effectively and benevolently over the past year to have landed on this list.

“We’re delighted to celebrate Long Island’s most powerful movers and shakers on Long Island,” says Joanna Austin, Publisher of the Long Island Press. “The list is comprised of many familiar names and we attempted to balance that by introducing additional Long Islanders who represent rising talent to watch.”

Those who call Long Island home include everyone from Fortune 500 company leaders to the top policymakers in New York State. The area is a hotbed of innovation and scientific research. And it’s launched the careers of countless leaders in education, real estate, nonprofit, law, and healthcare — not to mention media moguls.

Schneps Media, the parent company of Long Island Press, will celebrate the Long Island Press Power List honorees at The Carltun in East Meadow on February 27. Northwell Health CEO Michael Dowling will be the keynote speaker. For tickets and more information, visit eventbrite.com

The honorees are as follows:


These three Power Listers are inducted into the Hall of Fame for previously making the list five times.

Robert Coughlan and James Coughlan, Co-founders, Tritec Real Estate Company

Leading the 50-acre Ronkonkoma Hub mixed-use redevelopment is just one of their many groundbreaking projects.

Doon Gibbs, Laboratory Director, Brookhaven National Laboratory

His new $2 billion electron-ion collider will help unlock the secrets of the universe and create 4,000 jobs


Lynda Armyn, Senior Vice President of Corporate Affairs, Bethpage Federal Credit Union
John Buran, CEO, Flushing Bank
Joanne DeFino, Partner, KPMG
Daniel Eichhorn, President and Chief Operating Officer, PSEG-Long Island
Lou Grassi, CEO, Managing Partner, Grassi & Co.
Wayne N. Grossé, President and CEO, Bethpage Federal Credit Union
Robert A. Isaksen, Long Island Market President, Bank of America
Carolyn Mazzenga, Office Managing Partner, Marcum
James Metzger, CEO and Chairman, The Whitmore Agency
Kevin O’Connor, President and CEO, BNB Bank
Michael Puorro, Chairman, President, and CEO, Hanover Bank
Robert Rosenthal, Chairman, CEO, and CIO, First Long Island Investors
Harry Singh, CEO, Bolla Oil
David Sterling, CEO, SterlingRisk Insurance
Juliana Terian, CEO, Rallye Motors
Cathy Verrelli, Office Managing Partner, Ernst & Young
Fred Wilpon, Chairman, Senior Partner, Sterling Equities


Ann Conroy, CEO, Long Island Division, Douglas Elliman
Michael Dubb, Founder and CEO, The Beechwood Organization
Christina Mathieson, CEO, Keller Williams Realty Greater Nassau
Anthony Manetta, Managing Director, Cedar  Communities
Deirdre O’Connell, CEO, Daniel Gale Sotheby ’s International Realty
Scott Rechler, Chairman and CEO, RXR Realty


Stanley Bergman, Chairman and CEO, Henry Schein, Inc.
John Cameron, Founder and Managing Partner, Cameron Engineering
Erik Gershwind, CEO, MSC Industrial Supply
Peter Goldsmith, Chairman, LISTnet
Anil Kapoor, CEO, SVAM
Seymour Liebman, Executive Vice President, Chief Administrative Officer and General Counsel, Canon U.S.A. Inc.
Gregory Penza, CEO , ULC Robotics
Bob Sanders, Senior Vice President and General Manager, Zebra Technologies


Michael Faltischek, Partner, Ruskin Moscou Faltischek
Howard Fensterman, Managing Partner, Abrams, Fensterman, Fensterman, Eisman, Formato, Ferrara, Wolf & Carone, LLP
Steve Schlesinger, Managing Partner, Jaspan Schlesinger LLP
Robert Wild, Chairman, Garfunkel Wild, P.C.


Michael Corn, Senior Executive Producer, Good Morning America
Katherine Heaviside, CEO, Epoch 5 Public Relations
Jon Ledecky, Co-owner, New York Islanders
Gary Lewi, Managing Director, Rubenstein Associates
Todd Shapiro, President, Todd Shapiro Associates
Lloyd Singer, Senior Vice President, Epoch 5 Public Relations


Michael Dowling, President and CEO, Northwell Health
Barry Weiner, President, Enzo Biochem
George Tsunis, Chairman and CEO of Chartwell Hotels, ex-chairman of the board of Nassau Health Care Corp.
Dr. Margaret M. McGovern, Physician-in-Chief, Stony Brook Children’s Hospital


Terri Alessi-Miceli, President and CEO, Hauppauge Industrial Association
Fred Brewington, civil rights attorney
Randell (Rande) Marie Bynum, CEO, Girl Scouts of Nassau County
Alfonse D’Amato, CEO, Park Strategies
Isma Chaudhry, President, Islamic Center of Long Island
Adrienne Esposito, Executive Director, Citizens Campaign for the Environment
Yvonne Grant, CEO, Girl Scouts of Suffolk County
Elaine Gross, Founder and President, Erase Racism
Kevin Law, President and CEO, Long Island Association
Rick Lewis, CEO, Mid-Island Y JCC and Suffolk YJCC
Neela Lockel, CEO, The American Red Cross of Long Island
Gwen O’Shea, President and CEO, the Community Development Corporation of Long Island
Paule Pachter, CEO, Long Island Cares and The Harry Chapin Regional Food Bank
Mitchell Pally, CEO of the Long Island Builders Institute
Nancy Rauch Douzinas, President, Rauch Foundation
Theresa Regnante, President and CEO, United Way of Long Island
Jeffrey Reynolds, President and CEO, Family & Children’s Association
Theresa Sanders, President and CEO, the Urban League of Long Island
Randi Shubin Dresner, President, Island Harvest
Mohinder Singh Taneja, President, American Diversity Forum


Kimberly Cline, President, Long Island University
Hank Foley, President, New York Institute of Technology
Stuart Rabinowitz, President, Hofstra University
Christine Riordan, President, Adelphi University
Bruce Stillman, President, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory

Noel DiGerolamo, President, Suffolk PBA
John Durso, President, Local 338 RWDSU/UFCW & LI Federation of Labor
John Guadagno, President, IBEW Local 25
Nicholas LaMorte, President, CSEA, Long Island Region, Local 1000 AFSCME
James McDermott, President Nassau County PBA



Tracey Edwards, Commissioner for New York Public Service Commission
Eric Gertler
, Chairman, Empire State Development Corp.
Thomas DiNapoli, New York State Comptroller
John Flanagan, New York State Senate Republican Minority Leader
Patrick Foye, President, Metropolitan Transportation Authority
Jay Jacobs, New York State Democratic Committee Chairman
Todd Kaminsky, New York State Senator


Kevan Abrahams, Nassau County Legislature’s Democratic Minority Leader
Joseph Cairo, Chairman, Nassau County Republican Committee
Don Clavin, Hempstead Town Supervisor
Laura Curran, Nassau County Executive
Richard Kessel, Chairman, Nassau Industrial Development Agency
Richard Nicolello, Presiding Officer, Nassau County Legislature


Yvette Aguiar, Riverhead Town Supervisor
Steve Bellone, Suffolk County Executive
Thomas Cilmi, Minority Leader, Suffolk County Legislature’s Republican Caucus
Jesse Garcia, Suffolk County Republican Committee Chairman
DuWayne Gregory, Ex-Presiding Officer, Suffolk County Legislature
Richard Schaffer, Suffolk County Democratic Committee Chairman, Babylon Town Supervisor


Richard Donoghue, U.S. Attorney for the Eastern District of New York
Geraldine Hart, Commissioner, Suffolk County Police Department
Patrick Ryder, Commissioner, Nassau County Police Department
Madeline Singas, Nassau County District Attorney
Timothy Sini, Suffolk County District Attorney